Happy Gluten-versary

Sunday will be my one year Gluten-versary. A lot of people are surprised I know when it is but when you make a commitment and life-style change as major as going gluten-free you arent going to forget. In the one year span, I have learned a lot – and now friends come to me for advice and guidance on starting a gluten-free diet.  Even the friends that arent gluten-free get excited when they see something and can’t wait to tell me.  In my one year since going gluten-free I have lost 27 lbs, I feel better, have more energy, my skin is clearer and my nails are stronger. My Vitamin D deficiency and digestive issues have corrected themselves.

I have occasionally gotten “glutened” and the longer I have been off the worse the symptoms are. It takes me about two-three days to recover from an episode. It always happens when I go out to eat and depending how bad it is – I usually avoid the restaurant after that. Maybe might give them another chance or figure out if I ordered something wrong.

For the most part though I eat in and prepare my own food – I have found I have more control that way. My house is now 97% gluten-free (my husband has a box of cereal and a box of pasta occasionally there will be a box of crackers or a loaf of bread for him and my daughter) and it has clearly designated area of where it is stored and prepared.  I should have documented the progression of my pantry. I started out with one shelf of gluten-free products and now there is only a quarter of a shelf of GLUTEN products (where the bread, cereal, crackers are stored). Gluten-free has truly taken over.

I am always on the hunt for new products and new places to eat – and it doesnt seem to be any lack of new stuff coming on the market. I had a great time at the South Florida Gluten Free Expo in February and cant wait to for it to come back next year – I ate more food than I have in a long time and a lot of it was good – there were a lot of hits but some misses too! But I loved all the products I got to take home and try.

I’ll try to keep an update on what is coming to the area.  Let me know if you find something too!

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

