New Green Restuarant with lots of gluten-free options opening in Delray!

I love to eat out (I am embracing eating in a little bit more) but still loving to eat out! Why cook when someone can do it for you! is my motto LOL! And so I am always looking for new places to try – and I am even happier when I see how many restaurants are coming up with gluten-free options for us.

I saw this new post on Jan Norris’s blog about a new green restaurant in Delray opening.
You can read her whole post here but here are some fact and highlights that got me salivating!

“DIG – it stands for “Doing It Green” – will be totally organic, from the food to the floors, he said. “We’re organic, not vegetarian, but there are a ton of options for vegans and vegetarians on the menu. And out of 40 dishes, I counted 27 gluten-free options.”

27 Gluten-free dishes!!! Love it! I cant imagine going somewhere and having 27 dishes to choose from!

“Several dishes have been especially created for the gluten-free and dairy-free diner. “I’ve figured out a way to make crab cakes dairy- and gluten-free – I’m using Veganaise as a binder. It’s oil processed at a low temperature and actually works much better than mayonnaise. There’s no crumb binder – we sear the cake at a high heat and it’s nothing but lump jumbo crab.”

There are a few things I miss since going gluten free and crab cakes is one of them!!! I love crab cakes!!! DIG opens June 17th just in time for my birthday – I think a crab cake dinner will be in order. When I go – I will make sure to give you a full report!

DIG

  • 5199 W. Atlantic Avenue, Delray Beach
  • 561-638-0500 (website to come)
  • Open daily beginning June 17.
  • Hours: 11 a.m.-11 p.m. Sunday-Thursday; to 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday.
Posted on June 12, 2011, in Delray Beach, Dining Out, Gluten-Free. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

